Running Better

The cards were running even better than last night and I think the fish like to play on Saturday mornings. After 81 hands, 44 more BB added to the bankroll. This shit is too easy! This hand was my favorite…

Party Poker 0.5/1 Hold’em (10 handed)

Preflop: Hero is MP3 with AdQd

UTG calls, UTG+1 folds, UTG+2 folds, MP1 folds, MP2 calls, Hero raises, CO folds, Button 3-bets, SB calls, BB folds, UTG calls, MP2 calls, Hero caps, Button calls, SB calls, UTG calls, MP2 calls.

Flop: (21 SB) 2h4c9s (5 players)

SB checks, UTG checks, MP2 bets, Hero calls, Button calls, SB calls, UTG calls.

Turn: (13 BB) As (5 players)

SB checks, UTG checks, MP2 bets, Hero raises, Button calls, SB calls, UTG calls, MP2 calls.

River: (23 BB) Th (5 players)

SB checks, UTG checks, MP2 bets, Hero calls, Button calls, SB calls, UTG calls.

Final Pot: 28 BB, between Button, SB, UTG, MP2 and Hero. > Pot won by Hero (28 BB).

Results:

SB has JcJd (one pair, jacks).

UTG has 9dKc (one pair, nines).

MP2 has Ks9c (one pair, nines).

Hero has AdQd (one pair, aces).

Button has Ac3c (one pair, aces).

Outcome: Hero wins 28 BB.

I probably should have been more aggressive, but I went into call mode because I figured that someone had to have a better hand than one pair. MP2 was raising all the time with garbage so I didn’t put him on anything better than a little pair, but I figured for sure someone else was slowplaying two pair or trips. Three hands later came this hand…

Party Poker 0.5/1 Hold’em (10 handed)

Preflop: Hero is UTG+2 with KdAd

UTG calls, UTG+1 calls, Hero raises, MP1 folds, MP2 folds, MP3 folds, CO calls, Button calls, SB folds, BB folds, UTG calls, UTG+1 calls.

Flop: (11.50 SB) 6sJdTd (5 players)

UTG checks, UTG+1 bets, Hero raises, CO folds, Button calls, UTG calls, UTG+1 calls.

Turn: (9.75 BB) 6d (4 players)

UTG checks, UTG+1 bets, Hero raises, Button calls, UTG folds, UTG+1 calls.

River: (15.75 BB) Qh (3 players)

UTG+1 bets, Hero raises, Button folds, UTG+1 calls.

Final Pot: 19.75 BB

Main Pot: 19.75 BB, between UTG+1 and Hero. > Pot won by Hero (19.75 BB).

Results:

UTG+1 has 9sTc (two pair, tens and sixes).

Hero has KdAd (flush, ace high).

Outcome: Hero wins 19.75 BB.

Fish will be fish! Gotta love Party Poker!

Running Good

The cards are running good. I played 165 hands of .50/1 today on Party Poker and walked away over 70 BB in the positive. The fish were all trying to swim up the river, but not many could “flop” over the dam. It was quite a rush. Now I’m just bracing for the other side of variance to hit.

I even played two tables at once for the first time on Party. It didn’t seem to hurt my concentration at all. If anything, it kept me focused because there was more going on. In a matter of about two and a half weeks I’ve managed to double my starting bankroll of $300 if I include the bonuses I’ve gotten on the deposits. More and more confidence in my game is a good thing, as long as I don’t get too confident I guess.

Leaking AK

Found another leak. AhKc According to Poker Tracker, I’ve had Ace-King offsuit 21 times, winning 28.57% of the time, but losing 28.75 BB in the process. It’s one of those hands I have a hard time getting away from, especially when I’m getting pot odds to call after the flop and turn. I’m going to […]

Growing Up

My game is steadily improving each time I play. I’ve started reading Small Stakes Hold ’em: Winning Big With Expert Play for the 2nd time in the last few weeks and I’m catching a lot of stuff I missed the first time around. The $20-some odd I paid for the book was worth every cent.

I haven’t really tilted like I used to in the past few days. When I get beat by someone hitting their two out draw on the river I think completely different from how I used to. Before SSH, I’d think, “Jesus Christ, another fucking miracle card for these assholes!” Now I think, “Keep playing just like that fish. I’ll beat you way more often when you have those cards than you’ll beat me. Push the chips over here next time.” Once you come to the reality that you need players to actually hit these “miracle” draws once in awhile, it makes all the difference. If they never hit them, they wouldn’t keep playing them and paying you off. It’s as simple as that.

I still have leaks/weaknesses in my game. A lot of them. But in a short period of time, with the help of SSH, I’m a lot better player than I was 2 or 3 weeks ago. The single biggest improvement in my game has been increasing my aggressiveness during all betting rounds. It’s winning a lot more pots than the old passive player I was. My post flop play can still get pretty bad at times. I tend to give away bets when it’s pretty clear I’m beat.

Want to improve your game? Buy SSH, buy Poker Tracker, and start playing low limit cash games on Party Poker. If you are serious about your game, you shouldn’t have any problems winning on their tables with all of the fish swimming around. Start small and think big.

Monsters

I witnessed this hand in a FreeRoll tournament on Empire Poker.

Blinds (200/400) – 8 players

UTG folds, UTG+1 raises 800, MP1 folds, MP2 folds, CO folds, Button calls 800, SB raises 1000, BB folds, UTG+1 raises 800, Button calls 800, SB calls 400

Flop

5sKc8c

SB checks, UTG+1 is All-In, Button is All-In, SB is All-In

Turn

Th

River

Qs

SB shows AsAd a pair of aces. UTG+1 shows AcKd a pair of kings. Button shows KsKh three of a kind, kings.

SB wins 5302 chips with a pair of aces. Button wins 9976 chips with three of a kind, kings.

I don’t think I could have folded any of those hands after the flop either. AcKd was dominated the whole way. The only way he was going to win the hand was with a flush or straight. Ouch!